Create a Website Account - Manage notification subscriptions, save form progress and more.
You may choose to take a Defensive Driving/Driver's Safety Course (DSC) on any one of the moving violations shown on the ticket you were issued.
You are eligible to request defensive driving if you:
You are not eligible to take defensive driving for if you were cited for any of the following:
**Please note that individuals who have a commercial driver's license are not eligible for this course.
If you were cited while operating a motorcycle, you may be able to inquire dismissal of this charge by taking a Motorcycle Operators Training Course (MOTC). The eligibility for requesting a Motorcycle Operators Training Course is the same as the Defensive Driving/Driver's Safety Course with the exception that you must have been cited while operating a motorcycle.
You can only take defensive driving for ticket dismissal once every 12 months. Additionally, you must request permission to take this course for purposes of ticket dismissal by the appearance date shown on your ticket. To take defensive driving and have your violation dismissed, you must complete these steps:
Please note that you do not have to set up a court appearance or talk to a prosecutor for permission to take the course. You may come to a court location on or before the appearance date at the bottom or your citation. You may also request defensive driving by mail. Refer to the information on the back of the citation labeled "DSC instructions" and follow all instructions carefully.
You may request defensive driving in person or by mail. Follow the instructions on the sheet the police officer gave you when your ticket was issued. Only the person who was issued the ticket may fill out the affidavit.
On or before the appearance date on your ticket, you must submit the following:
- A copy of a valid vehicle insurance policy with your name listed as an insured driver covering the vehicle you were driving
- Your insurance card
- A certificate of self-insurance
If all of the above criteria for defensive driving are met, your permission to take the DSC (defensive driving) should be granted. You will receive written permission from the court by mail or told in person.
You will have 90 days from the date the affidavit is notarized to complete the defensive driving course, obtain your driving record, and submit both documents to the court. Proof must be submitted prior to the end of the 90th day. If you fail to show proof, you will be scheduled for a Show Cause hearing before a Municipal Court judge or pay the remainder of your fine of $200 & a conviction will be submitted to the Texas Department of Public Safety.
A notice of the Show Cause hearing will be mailed to you at the address listed on your citation, unless you notify the court of a change of address.
The form will be given to you when signing up in person, mailed to those who choose to request DSC by mail, or is available from the Department of Public Safety website. You will need to mail the completed form to the Texas Department of Public Safety. You may also request your driving record on the DPS Website.
It is your responsibility to ensure that the proof arrives at the court no later than the 90th day after the date that your Driving Safety Course Request Affidavit was notarized. Show proof of completion of the defensive driving course by one of the following options: