Election/Elección - May 2016

On March 8, 2016, the City Council cancelled the May 7, 2016, General Election.

On February 26, 2016, the City Secretary, in accordance with Section 2.052, Texas Election Code, certified to the City Council in writing that Bruce Henderson is unopposed for election to the office of Council Member Position No. 2; Wally Deats is unopposed for election to the office of Council Member Position No. 4; and William H. King, III is unopposed for election to the office of Council Member Position No. 6.  

2016 General Election

The City Secretary conducts all City of Dickinson elections, and administers them in accordance with the laws of the State of Texas.

In accordance with the Texas Election Code, the City of Dickinson will hold a General Election on May 7, 2016, to elect a: 

  • Council Member At Large Position 2
  • Council Member At Large Position 4
  • Council Member At Large Position 6
The term of office for these positions is three years from May 2016 to May 2019.

Notice is hereby given that applications for a place on the City of Dickinson, Texas, General Election ballot may be filed during the following times to the City Secretary.

  • Start Date: Wednesday, January 20, 2016
  • End Date: Friday, February 19, 2016
  • End Date Write-In Candidate: Tuesday, February 23, 2016
Dickinson Election Information

Early Voting
Monday, April 25 through Friday, April 29, 2016
Monday, May 2 and Tuesday, May 3, 2015

Times and locations to be determined.
Election Day
Saturday, May 7, 2016
7:00am until 7:00pm

At Dickinson City Hall (4403 Highway 3, Dickinson) and other locations to be determined in Galveston County.

Ballot by Mail Information

Information regarding applications by mail from Galveston County Elections Division:

Applications for a Place on the May 7, 2016 Ballot


Applications on File:


  • Bruce Henderson - Position 2
  • Wally Deats - Position 4
  • William H. King, III - Position 6