Election May 6, 2023

Dickinson, Texas - May 6, 2023 - The results are in for the four contested Council positions in the May 6, 2023, election in Dickinson, Texas. With over 2,000 citizens turning out at the polls, voters have made their voices heard. The City of Dickinson would like to congratulate the candidates who have won their respective races and thank all those who participated in the election process. 

In the race for Mayor, Sean Skipworth emerged as the winner with 52.14% of the vote. In the City Council races, voters elected the following candidates:

  • Councilmember Position 1: Johnnie Simpson, with 54.21% of the vote
  • Councilmember Position 3: Mark Townsend, with 61.26% of the vote
  • Councilmember Position 5: Bill Schick, with 62.43% of the vote

Additionally, the Dickinson Independent School District’s $120 million bond referendum passed with 62.81% of citizens FOR the improvements. The College of the Mainland $250 million bond referendum passed with 50.03% of citizens FOR the improvements. The Galveston County Water Control and Improvement District #1 (WCID #1) $33 million bond passed with 59.28% of citizens FOR the extensive infrastructure repair and improvement projects.

Each of these candidates had a unique platform that resonated with voters, and we congratulate them on their hard-fought victories. The new and returning Mayor & Councilmembers will work together to ensure that Dickinson continues to be a wholesome and vibrant community for all residents and businesses. 

The City of Dickinson would also like to express its appreciation for the hard work and dedication of all the candidates who participated in the election. Running for public office is a significant undertaking, and it takes a great deal of courage and commitment to put oneself forward as a candidate. We applaud their efforts and encourage them to continue to stay engaged in their community.

Finally, we would like to thank all the citizens of Dickinson who turned out to vote. Your participation in the democratic process is vital to ensuring that our government reflects the will of the people. We hope to see even more participation in future elections, and we look forward to working with all citizens to continue building a brighter future for Dickinson. 

For election results and information, please visit www.galvestonvotes.org!

Election Night Final Results. Click on the image for County-Wide Races

election results final

The City Secretary conducts all City of Dickinson elections and administers them in accordance with the laws of the State of Texas.

Following the Texas Election Code, the City of Dickinson will hold a General Election on May 6, 2023, to elect a: 

  • Mayor
  • Council Member At Large Position 1
  • Council Member At Large Position 3
  • Council Member At Large Position 5

The term of office for these positions is three years from May 2023 to May 2026.

Notice is hereby given that applications for a place on the City of Dickinson, Texas, General Election ballot may be filed during the following times to the City Secretary.

  • Start Date: January 18, 2023
  • End Date: February 17, 2023
  • End Date Write-In Candidate: February 17, 2023 

All applications must be filed with the City Secretary at one of the following:

All voting locations available to Galveston County residents and voter requirements are available on www.galvestonvotes.org

Before becoming a candidate, we urge you to contact the Texas Ethics Commission for information on campaign contribution reports, the appointment of a campaign treasurer, and personal financial statements that you may be required to file. The Commission may be reached at the following address:

Texas Ethics Commission
P.O. Box 12070
Austin, TX 78711-2070

  1. Candidate Application & Helpful Guides
  2. Voting Information
  3. Notices and Documents

Candidate Filings

Mayor Council Position 1 Council Position 3 Council Position 5
Sean Skipworth Johnnie Simpson Jr. Collin Coker John Ovalle
Kevin Edmonds Nita Smathers Clements Mark Townsend Bill Schick
      Kevin Edmonds (Withdrawn)